Discover UKZN

The Council of the University is the highest decision making body within the University structure and is constituted according to the Higher Education Act, 1997, and the University of KwaZulu-Natal Statute. Subject to the Act and this Statute, the Council governs the University.

The 30 member Council consists of executive officers, employees of the institution, student representatives, alumni and community members appointed following the approved University processes.


Ministerial Appointees
  • Dr Mark Hay
  • Mr Sammy Mashita
  • Dr Letticia Moja
  • Ms Thobeka Njozela
  • Dr Maureen Tong (Vice-Chair)
Executive Members
  • Professor Nana Poku (Vice-Chancellor and Principal)
  • Professor Busisiwe Ncama (Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Head College of Health Sciences)
  • Professor Nhlanhla Mkhize (Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Head College of Humanities)
Senate Representatives
  • Professor Neil Koorbanally (Dean: Research College of Agriculture, Engineering & Science)
  • Professor Stephen Mutula (Dean & Head: School of Management, IT & Governance)
Academic Staff Representatives
  • Professor Colleen Aldous (School of Clinical Medicine)
  • Professor Gareth Amery (School of Mathematics, Statistics & Computer Science)
SRC Representatives
  • Mr Nduduzo Zulu (SRCE President)
  • Mr Simphiwe Xulu (SRCE Secretary-General)
Support Staff Representatives
  • Mr Bhekithemba Dlamini (Student Governance & Leadership Development)
  • Mr Mandlenkosi Dlamini (Disability Support Unit, Student Services)
Appointed by the Council
  • Judge Jacqueline Henriques
  • Professor Rachmond Howard
  • Dr Andrew Johnson
  • Ms Elizabeth Maepa
  • Mr Moerane Maimane
  • Mr Nicholas Motsatse
  • Ms Khomotso Mthimunye (Chair)
  • Dr McLean Sibanda
  • Dr Sibongiseni Tunzelana
  • Mr Andrè D Young
  • Vacant
In Attendance
  • Dr Kathy Cleland (Registrar and Secretary to Council)
  • Ms Nontuthuko Mbhele (Chief Finance Officer)
  • Ms Normah Zondo (Executive Director: Corporate Relations)
  • Ms Prem Chetty (Head of Committees)
Convocation Representatives
  • Mr Mandlenkosi Patrick Kumalo
  • Mr Thabani W Mkhize
  • Dr Qiniso Mlita