A select group of 20 participants from 12 different countries make up the exciting line-up of the 15th Poetry Africa international poetry festival. Hosted by the Centre for Creative Arts (University of KwaZulu-Natal) and made possible through core funding from the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund and other valued partners, Poetry Africa runs in Durban from 17 to 21 October at the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre, with the festival finale at BAT Centre on 22 October.

Poets for 2011: (click to view bio) 

Didier Awadi (Senegal)

Gabeba Baderoon (South Africa)

Joshua Bennett (USA)

Go to the CCA website (The Netherlands)

TJ Dema (Botswana)


Sandile Dikeni (South Africa)

Myesha Jenkins (South Africa)

Khadijatou (United Kingdom)

Phelelani Makhanya (South Africa)

Oswald Mtshali (South Africa)

Dashen Naicker (South Africa)

Niyi Osundare (Nigeria)

Shailja Patel (Kenya)

Fernando Rendon (Colombia)

Patrice Treuthardt (Reunion)

Uzinzo (South Africa)

Mphutlane wa Bofelo (South Africa)

David wa Maahlamela (South Africa)

Raul Zurita (Chile).

View full programme of activities

Go to the CCA website



Posted on